a hidden art.

2

September 15, 2012 by Abby and Alex Rodriguez

Fall has graced us with her presence and my heart couldn’t be happier.  Fall means many things to me such as: shorts and long sleeve t-shirts, the occasional hoodie, camp fires, all things pumpkin, football, extended mornings in bed with coffee, leaves, soup (especially tomato basil), sleeping with our sliding glass door cracked and more importantly…our first fall garden!

I have always loved the idea of having a garden.  Something to tend to in the evenings, a mental escape, something that is mine, something to watch grow from just a seed and hopefully turn into something, something that makes me feel.

One of my favorite authors, Edith Schaeffer, describes gardening as a “hidden art” a way of escaping from a mechanical, plastic world.

Image“The day the first tips of green are seen, if they are your seeds, planted by your fingers, there is a thrill that is surely similar to producing an art work, a thrill of accomplishment mixed with the reality of what is, what exists, what the universe consists of.”

To be thrilled to see my broccoli sprout for the first time would be an understatement.  I had to have planted over 5 different transplant cups with broccoli alone and I only had one fighter, but man, I’ve never been more proud.  I transplanted her into the big garden today.

Image

I prayed over her.  She’s my first and only sprout right now, would hate to see her go.  Come to think of it, as much as I get emotionally attached to things, this garden could be a blessing or a curse!

It’s just broccoli, it’s just broccoli, it’s just broccoli…

Image

This is my garden.  My Square Foot garden to be exact.  Each square is a different vegetable.  My garden is a salad garden.  I planted spinach, romaine, carrots and my lone broccoli.  The idea behind the squares is it keeps things organized.  Fool proof method, that I’ve loved, based on a book called The Square Foot Garden by Mel Bartholomew.

Image

Vegetables bloom in different sizes.  You have small, medium, large and extra large veggies.  Extra large veggies, get a whole square all to themselves, such as my broccoli.  Whereas carrots, which I am planted in the above picture, do not require a lot of space to grow, so you can plant up to 16 seeds in one square!  My spinach is considered a medium veggie, so I only planted 9 seeds.  My romaine lettuce is a large plant, requiring me to plant only 4 seeds per square.  Genius method!  I would have been so lost without my book.

Now all that’s left to do is watch and water.  No need to weed because it’s in a raised bed.

I love my little garden.

Image

and my little garden gnome.

 “We as Christians are made in the image of the Creator and is therefore meant to be creative and should develop his talents to do something to beautify his little spot on the world’s surface.”

2 thoughts on “a hidden art.

  1. Aleta Woods says:

    Love your story. Thanks for sharing. Love you. aunt A and Uncle G Oh, keep us posted oh how your garden grows> 🙂

  2. Brenda says:

    Good story, sweetie! I’ll be praying for the lone broccoli. Haha!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Life At Point C

Experiencing Life along the Silk Road

Wow Mom Wow

Motherhood. #nofilter

WanderLust

The Many Adventures of Emily

